My Most Anticipated Games of 2016

It seems silly and more than a little delusional to look forward to games coming out this year when I have a backlog of at least 15 I’m still planning to play through. Oh well! Regardless, I’m really looking forward to some of the games (hopefully) coming out this year. There’s more, but these are the ones I most ardently long for, in no particular order.

Crowfall

crowfall_marcsimonetticoncept

I backed Crowfall on Kickstarter, and their regular backer updates are a real source of excitement for me. I think this is the only announced MMO I’m really looking forward to, besides maybe Camelot Unchained and, distantly, Star Citizen.

Separate campaign settings, so you can risk as much or as little as you’d like, the passive leveling of EVE Online, guild/personal realms and customization… There’s a long list of reasons I’m optimistic about this game, and I hope to test drive once beta testing expands.

Uncharted 4

uncharted-4

The Uncharted games are a promise of straightforward, engaging adventure punctuated by astounding set pieces. I was late to the part on the first three, but when I finally picked up a PS3 they were the first games I played. The footage I’ve seen of A Thief’s End has been stunning up to this point, and I can’t wait to finish Nathan Drake’s story.

XCOM 2

2875908-05_x2_screens_overview_thm

*heavy breathing*

I swear the words “more XCOM” are like a magic spell. I spent countless hours on Enemy Unknown, and then another chunk of my waking life on Enemy Within. I know other people have this feeling about games like Civilization, but for me, XCOM is the ultimate “one more turn” addictive hamster wheel.

Everything I’ve seen of this sequel looks amazing. Horrifying new enemies, powerful new abilities and classes, weapon customization, more character customization… I’ll say lately I’ve been spending more time gaming on my PS4, but once XCOM 2 comes out I’ll answer only to the siren call of Steam for awhile.

Dark Souls 3

f48873601575f4707d26e630da1727c117212777

Bloodborne was an excellent diversion, but it didn’t pull me in the way the main Souls games have. I had no strong to urge to play again with a new build, or explore all the nooks and crannies the way I did in Lordran. Dark Souls 3 looks like more of the same in the best of ways, with the added bonus of new systems like the unique weapon attacks, and increased multiplayer potential.

Persona 5

2812812-persona5-2

What is it that was so intoxicating about Persona 4? I don’t have any huge fondness for dungeon crawlers. I’ve never played a dating sim (unless Harvest Moon counts). Pokemon’s held no attraction for me in years. Maybe it’s the way Persona 4 combines all those things into something greater than the sum of its average parts, a long, exceedingly memorable story full of characters you can’t help but grow attached to.

Then again, maybe it’s just that killer music.

The trailers released for Persona 5 are dripping, just oozing with the same style cranked up for a new generation. It might be too early to say, but dungeon design looks to have more life to it too, which was probably my biggest complaint about the last game. Persona 4 was a genre-defining experience, and this next installment looks even better.

Torment: Tides of Numenera

maxresdefault

I want to say this is the first thing I ever Kickstarted. I’ve picked up Planescape: Torment a few times over the years, always loving it but never making it more than a few hours in. The dialogue is rich, the world is wonderfully weird and dense, but the engine is old and clunky. I’m thrilled about a modern update, and after the success of Pillars of Eternity and how their new engine feels, I’m very optimistic.

That’s just six games I’m looking forward to in the next year, in addition to the dozens of other small titles, unannounced surprises, and dark horses we’re sure to see. Who in the world has enough time for this hobby?

Add Comment

