RECAP: Scattergames

honeycomb_space

I’ve been all over the place lately! Every few months, I’l find myself in a state of mind where I really want to play games, but I can’t seem to decide on one. The Secret World still holds a good chunk of my attention, but I’m feeling pulled in a lot of different directions at the same time. I haven’t spent enough time with most of them to develop any deeper opinions, but I do have a few thoughts for each.

Batman: Arkham Origins. The combat in the Arkham games is pretty much my favorite system ever. It requires attention and awareness of your surroundings, along with an understanding of all your different abilities and how to use them effectively. I enjoy the few tweaks to the system in this new entry, but the storyline isn’t doing much for me. I’ll finish it because it’s fun, but probably forgettable.

Path of Exile. I enjoyed Diablo 3 for awhile, but the RMAH and lackluster loot eventually killed my enthusiasm. PoX is scratching an itch I didn’t know was still there, though I haven’t spent a ton of time with it yet.

Final Fantasy XIV. I almost have the Paladin unlocked! But I’ve been neglecting Eorzea and I really need to spend more time there. My Free Company is counting on me!

Guild Wars 2. Am I really getting back into GW2 again? Every time I think I’m done with this game, I end up getting pulled back in, this time because of the birthday boost that jumps one of your characters to level 20. I’ve been having a lot of fun with my Charr warrior, but I don’t know how long it’ll last. Bonus: I haven’t played since I upgraded my video card, and I’m constantly reminded how stunningly beautiful Tyria is.

Fallen Earth. I’ve really only played through the tutorial, but I’m very intrigued by this game. The interface is a little off-putting, but I really like what I’ve seen of the world so far and I’d like to spend more time with it.

lotro

LOTRO. Oh man. LOTRO is an older game, but I’m kind of in love with the aesthetic. I’d be hard-pressed to tell you why, but this feels like a world I could spend a lot of time in. I’ve been having a lot of fun with my Warden, and the gambit system keeps combat fresh and interesting. But there’s one issue that is absolutely killing my enjoyment of this game, and that is the quest tracker. It feels like a hassle to manage, it keeps switching focus on me, and while I like the look of the map, it DOES NOT go out of its way to help me actually find anything.

This is where you come in, fellow bloggers! Does LOTRO have any add-ons that improve the quest tracking? Is there something that makes tracking stand out more in the map? I know the UI has some good customization options in-game, and I’m wondering if there’s anything I can do with that. If there’s any answer to my questions, please give me a heads up!

Add Comment

