Kickoff

It’s time for me to write again.

I think I’ve been in a funk for a while, and when I funk out most of my time ends up spent with games and television. That drive to create, or at least write about someone else’s creations, doesn’t really grip me. But the LACK is starting to get to me, and I want to get some words out again.

Motivations are twofold:

  • NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month. The quest to produce 50,000 words resembling a novel during the 30(?) days of November. I’ve tried this a few times and never really made it past 5k or so. I’m not sure why I keep trying, but it does give me a new jolt of excitement each year. Maybe in 2013 I can wrestle that jolt into actual productivity.
  • NBI – Newbie Blogger Initiative. A drive by experienced games bloggers to get new people involved and support new blogs. This is pretty cool. Some of these sponsors have been blogging for years about every MMO across the board, and some of them are insightful and really enjoyable to follow. I’ve read a few of their blogs consistently for the last year or so, and I’d like to try to join them. Since I’ve been spending so much time with games lately, they feel like a good subject to rev my writing.

I might end up talking about a lot of different stuff on here, but for now I think I’ll mostly touch on the MMOs I’ve been caught up in lately. The Secret World and Final Fantasy 14 consume blocks of my time in equal parts, and I think it’s an interesting time to be playing both of them. TSW’s in the middle of a crazy, long-term event before a major content patch, and, since FF14 is fresh off a relaunch, a lot of it is still unexplored. I’ve been hopping back in Guild Wars 2 with some regularity, but I’ve never cracked 45 and I have a hard time committing to it. We’ll see what happens!

Also, I’ve always been terrible about taking screenshots, but I’m trying to get better at documenting my time in games so I can break up all these boring words with some color.

6 thoughts on “Kickoff

  1. Welcome to the NBI fold, it’s a good place to be. I’ve added you to my RSS and can’t wait to read further entries. Any questions, just ask.

    Also, look me up in TSW. I’m only just getting in Elite dungeons, myself, but my goal is to beat the Gatekeeper. Which, I must admit, is already more dungeon delving than I’ve done in ANY MMO, which I think says something about TSW and how great it is. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the welcome!

      I’ll look for you in TSW, and I’d be happy to run some Elites anytime too. Always need more practice tanking, hah.

  2. Hi there, and welcome to the NBI! I’m looking forward to your Final Fantasy posts, that’s a game I’d love to know more about – only thing I know is that I really like the artwork. Good luck on the blogging!

    1. It IS a gorgeous game. Sticks to pretty traditional systems, but I’ve been having fun with it. I’ll have a post up about it soon!

  3. Welcome to blogging 🙂 Hopefully it helps you get out of a funk and you can meet some great people along the way. Thanks also for the follow, and good luck with NaNoWriMo this year! 😀

    1. Thanks! It’s already helping me get back to regular writing habits, which is probably what I’ve struggled most with lately.

Add Comment

